Maps of Skaraborg County

Skaraborg County map


The County of Skaraborg is situated between the two great lakes Vänern and Vättern.

The municipalities within the County of Skaraborg:

  • Essunga
  • Falköping
  • Grästorp
  • Gullspång
  • Götene
  • Habo
  • Hjo
  • Karlsborg
  • Lidköping
  • Mariestad
  • Mullsjö
  • Skara
  • Skövde
  • Tibro
  • Tidaholm
  • Töreboda
  • Vara

Skaraborg County was named after the fotress Skara(borg) outside the city of Skara. The county is the northeastern part of the province Västergötland.

Skaraborg County (in swedish Skaraborgs län) was a county from 1634 to 1997. In 1998 it was merged with two others - Göteborgs- and Bohus and Älvsborg. The new County's name is Västra Götalands län.

When it comes to genealogy we always talk about the old counties, in this case Skaraborg County.

If you have your roots in the surrounding region you are welcome as well on this genealogy trip.

Skaraborg County in Sweden

Click on the map to enlarge the map.

  • Source: Project Runeberg.

Map of Counties in Sweden.

Skaraborg is marked with orange on the map.